The fourth meeting of Emily Townsend’s fifth-grade 4-H club at Lakewood School was held on Jan. 22.

The meeting was called to order by President Ellie Hamlin. Hamlin called on Ethan Nored to lead the Pledge of Allegiance and Tara Stephens to lead the 4-H pledge.

Vice President Ali Taylor called on Tristan Daniels to give the thought of the day, and the poem was read by Jacob Hobson.

In new business, the speech contest was held with speeches given by the following club members: Hamlin, Taylor, Stephens, Gray Armstrong and Westin Carver. Purple ribbon winners will proceed to county competition, and they were Hamlin, Carver and Stephens.

Blue ribbon recipients were Taylor and Armstrong.

Two members of Dana Jackson’s club also gave speeches during the meeting with Easton Swisher receiving a purple ribbon, and Ava Taylor a blue ribbon.

Other new business included announcement of February’s contest, which is the demonstration contest. The next meeting will be Feb. 19.


At the Jan. 21 meeting of Britni O’Neal’s Lakewood School 4th grade 4-H class, our president, Keiden Smith, was out sick so Vice President Emma Fortner took over.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Ethen Kreitz and the 4-H pledge was led by Madison Page. The thought of the day was given by Franchesca Lopez and the poem was given by McKennon Miles.

Fortner turned the meeting over to the secretary, Ryne Lindsey, who called roll by asking each student for their favorite Disney character.

The focus at this meeting was the speech contest.

The contestants were Lane Snow, Fortner, Lindsey, Micheal Drummond, Alexander Cavelera and Miles. Both Cavelera and Miles won purple ribbons.

The other contestants giving speeches at the meeting earned blue ribbons and the remainder of the class won green ribbons. Our next meeting is Feb. 18.


Marshall Todd called Pamela Young’s fourth-grade 4-H club at Lakewood School to order on Dec. 18.

Madilyn Townsend, secretary, shared the minutes from the last meeting. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Emily Denton. Eva Eaton led the 4-H pledge, and Layne McKinley shared the thought of the day.

A poem was read by Piper Kretzschmar. Samantha Bullock led the class in a paper dog demonstration. The recycled crafts were judged. Misshell Smith won a red ribbon, Bryan Stephens won a blue ribbon, and Todd, Townsend and Peyton Blanton won purple ribbons.

Load comments