Two new Republican members attended their first meeting of the Henry County Election Committee Monday.

Randy Geiger and Art Smith attended their first meeting as commission members during the called organizational meeting at the election commission office at the Grove School campus.

They replace commissioners Lorri Dalton and Tommy Townsend, both Republicans.

They join fellow Republican Stephen Goggans and Democratic members Bennie Akers and Sylvia Humphreys.

DeLaina Green was unanimously reappointed by the commission as administrator of elections. Goggans was unanimously re-elected chairman and Humphreys secretary.

In other business, the board:

• Approved a tentative budget for the election commission’s coming year, which runs Aug. 1, 2021, to July 31, 2022.

Green told commissioners there were a few items still to be determined, and that final figures would be submitted to the Henry County Budget Committee in May.

• Discussed, but took no action on, a plan to convert from precincts to voting centers by the 2024 election.

If enacted, the county would switch from casting election day ballots at the 13 existing precincts to six voting centers. Instead of being required to vote at their home precinct, voters could cast their ballot at whichever of the six voting centers across the county was convenient for them.

The commission will formally discuss the topic at a called meeting tentatively set for May 10.

Load comments