Tournament winners

Four of the six Henry County High School speech team members who placed at a recent tournament at White House High School are (from left) Cara Johnson, Ben McCormick, Nelson Denman and Kylee LaGrange. Not pictured are Natalie Clark and Abby Webb.

The 23-member Henry County High School speech team will host the annual Krider Invitational Speech Tournament Saturday at the high school.

Sixteen teams from two states are expected to participate and the local team will tabulate and keep time as well as provide concessions for the 185 students in attendance.

Local parents will provide food and hospitality for students and coaches, with six local businesses sponsoring trophies for the event.

The Paris Rotary Club awards $100 scholarships to each of the first-place winners in 12 categories.

Also, several local volunteers will join coaches from the participating teams as judges.

The opening assembly will take place at 8:15 a.m. in the HCHS Little Theater, with awards set for 4:30 p.m.

The HCHS speech team competed with 17 schools recently in a tournament at White House High School. Individual winners from the Patriots included Cara Johnson, first in humorous interpretation; Abby Webb, first in prose; Natalie Clark, fourth in program of oral interpretation; Kylee LaGrange, fourth in poetry; and the team of Nelson Denman and Ben McCormick, fourth in duo improvisation.

Load comments