HCHS Future Business Leaders attend regionals

Henry County High School Future Business Leaders of America attendees at the recent regional meeting are (first row, from left): Kashaina Nucum, Scarlett Metzinger, Ivy Wang, Cindy Gross, Bella Lowrance; (second row) Phoebe Odom, Braden Denman, Cara Johnson, Meg Gardner, Seth Battoe; (third row) Eric Wallet, Lily Underwood, Delia McDevitt, Sierra Conn, Kylee LaGrange; and (fourth row) Kevin Tyler, Deon Young, Nathan Beasley, Camren Stevenson, Liam McDevitt, Blake Yearry, Robbie Kenworthy, Joseph Crichton and Tucker Johnson.

Members of Future Business Leaders of America from Henry County High and its Grove freshman campus attended the Region 2 Leadership Conference Jan. 16 at Union University.

First-place winners in various specialties were Kashaina Nucum, business calculations; Kevin Tyler, computer problem-solving; Robbie Kenworthy, global business; and Camren Stevenson, introduction to information technology.

Nucum is also the 2019-20 Region 2 treasurer.

Second-place winners were Meg Gardner, advertising; Nathan Beasley, Delia McDevitt and Lilly Underwood, global business; Joseph Crichton, insurance and risk management;

Kylee LaGrange, journalism; Tucker Jones and Liam McDevitt, sports and entertainment; and Braden Denman, intro to FBLA.

Third-place winners were Cindy Gross, intro to information technology; Sierra Conn, organizational leadership; and Phoebe Odom, intro to FBLA.

Others placing were Cara Johnson, fourth in political science; Blake Yearry, Eric Wallet and Deon Young, fifth in sports and entertainment; Ivy Wang, sixth in intro to financial math; and Seth Battoe, seventh in intro to business.

Henry County FBLA also won the silver level Membership award for 2018-2019.

Other members are competing in state-only event projects and will advance as well.

Bella Lowrance, a senior at HCHS, is also the FBLA state secretary.

All will have an opportunity to attend the State Leadership Conference in March.

Load comments