HCHS baseball program is a consistent winner

The 1985 Henry County High School baseball team posted a 17-14 record. The team included (front row, from left) Steven Harrison, Richard Raymer, Tas Gardner, Mark Elkins; (second row) Terry Tharpe, Ricky Watson, Mickey Barker, Ron Harrison, Murray Palm, Tommy Hays; (third row) head coach Ray Waggoner, Kirk Heinrich, David Matlock, Mike McSwain, Russell Boyd, Chris Hudgins and assistant coach Randy Veazey.

Winning baseball teams has been a staple of the Henry County High School athletic program since I started covering sports in 1985.

During that time, the Patriots have had 16 20-win seasons while winning 11 district championships, three region titles and playing five times in the sectional tournament. In that more than 30 years, the Patriots have just eight coaches.

Load comments